How to be Lightskinned

don’t mind when people can’t tell.

discover racism
when they ask
“are you sicilian?”
“are you italian?”
“are you greek?”

over and over and over

instead of
“oh you must be,
latina
mexicana
indigenous
mayan
spanish
chola
marimacha
chicana
hispanic”

when I visit
Mexico
of course I fit

did you think racism only exists in one country?

Authors Note: I am not Mexican but there is only one word I know of for Guatemalan people and I have never been there. I read this piece in front of a room full of mostly white people today and there was a lot of silence but it was okay.

Leave a Reply

