Mixed Up (Wo)men: ACall to Write

“Why am I compelled to write?… Because the world I create in the writing compensates for what the real world does not give me. By writing I put order in the world, give it a handle so I can grasp it. I write because life does not appease my appetites and anger… To become more intimate with myself and you. To discover myself, to preserve myself, to make myself, to achieve self-autonomy. To dispell the myths that I am a mad prophet or a poor suffering soul. To convince myself that I am worthy and that what I have to say is not a pile of shit… Finally I write because I’m scared of writing, but I’m more scared of not writing.”
Gloria E. Anzaldúa

Welcome to all mixed, queer, womyn writers, poets, thinkers, dreamers. I am in the process of collecting stories and poems about mixed (whatever that means to you) experience in the world. Open to people of all cultures and lands. Please submit to beccawe@gmail.com. Stay tuned for more information about the project.

If you have questions, comments, concerns please email me! Look forward to writing with you.

“In order to rise
From its own ashes
A phoenix
First
Must
Burn.”
Octavia E. Butler, Parable of the Talents

Mee85a74052f0a037fc567c02caa1f002

Leave a Reply

